my 21st

birthday was a good one. It started too early, but my dad called right before I had to go to my not-so-favorite class, which made everything better! 🙂

Overall, it was a day full of feeling loved by family and friends. I had “Happy Birthday” sung to me 5 times, if I counted right- once on a phone message from my Aunt Dondi, three times in the middle of campus while at the Chi Alpha table at lunch time, and once in the middle of Cafe Chi Alpha.

Speaking of Cafe Chi Alpha…it went very well, in case you were wondering. There were several details that could have become small disasters- serving ~60 people lasagna dinner (lasagna, salad, bread, desert, Italian sodas), having people provide live music throughout dinner, having food hot (or at least warm) when served, and last but not least, having no kitchen closer than a five-minute walk away.

It happened, though, and was a good experience for all of us, I think. It was a lot of work, but was a lot of fun. Several people asked me if I was going to have fun later tonight, but I could honestly say that I was having fun. Although I don’t like the stress and worrying about an event like tonight, I like to be in the middle of doing it, especially when the people I’m working with are FANTASTIC!

Now, before my birthday is over and while my roommate is still at fencing practice, I think I’ll take a few minutes to just be and appreciate all the blessings in my life. Maybe I’ll have something profound to share in a day or two. 🙂

Leave a comment